Day 319–Locavore Pumpkin Chili

20121118-173648.jpg

I totally get it now. All that work, all the canning, all the freezing. I get it. Because now when the days are cool and there is nary a green bean, peach or tomato to be found at the farmer’s market, I can make something like this awesome chili with lots of my own, local vegetables. It’s pretty awesome. And it makes all the sweaty afternoons in a steaming kitchen totally worth it. I wondered at the end of the summer if I would ever do all that work again and now I know the answer. Yes.

This chili is completely delicious. It was posted by The Scrumptious Pumpkin as Drunken Pumpkin Chili. I like the name, but since I made this for a sleepover my daughter had, I thought I’d tone down the beer reference and focus on the local. I did, however, use the pumpkin ale she recommended and it was a great addition 🙂 Typically, I serve pizza for a sleepover, because who in the world doesn’t like pizza? As it turns out, we all liked this chili–so much that our plans for a second dinner are out (but I do have a fabulous lunch packed for work tomorrow!).

I changed up the original recipe a bit to suit the local ingredients I had on hand, like fresh oregano, frozen whole tomatoes, frozen roasted red peppers and frozen, roasted jalapenos, but the original recipe is HERE. Check out the otherScrumptious Pumpkin recipes, too. She does a great job using spices and natural flavors to tone down our use of fats and sugars!

Locavore Pumpkin Chili (adapted from The Scrumptious Pumpkin’s Drunken Pumpkin Chili)

  • 1 pound local, grassfed ground beef (Mae Farm)
  • 3 cloves organic garlic, minced
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, diced
  • 2 roasted red peppers, chopped
  • 1 tbsp. cumin
  • 2 tbsp. chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1 cup pumpkin ale (I used Kennebec Beer Company Pumpkin Ale)
  • 15-ounce can organic pumpkin puree
  • 5 tomatoes, skins removed and chopped
  • 4 roasted jalapeno peppers, chopped
  • 15 ounce can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • Kosher salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil
  1. In a Dutch oven, heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Add the onions and the garlic and saute for about 4 minutes or until onions are translucent.
  2. Add the carrots and bell pepper and saute for about 5 minutes more, until carrots begin to soften.
  3. Add the ground beef, breaking it up with a spoon, and brown. Stir often.
  4. Add the spices and tomatoes and stir well.
  5. Add the beer and stir again. Let simmer about 5 minutes.
  6. Add the pumpkin puree and peppers. Season to taste. Add the drained beans.
  7. Reduce the heat to low and let simmer for about 45 minutes (because I used the frozen tomatoes, my chili had a lot of liquid and needed to simmer a good while to reduce and thicken). Your house will smell truly amazing.
  8. Drink the remaining beer. Marvel at your domestic skills. Remember to be thankful for other bloggers who share their recipes.
  9. Serve alone or with grated cheese.
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This looks awesome…I love being able to use local summer produce all winter…although I did not do nearly as much “putting up” this summer as I should have.

    Reply
  2. Yum!! Thanks so much for this recipe! I’m making sweet potato & black bean chili with chipotle chiles today. I’m excited.

    Reply
    • I’ll bet that will be pretty similar to the pumpkin chili! It is so good that we only had a teensy bit of leftovers for me to take for lunch today. Out of a whole big pot. Note to self: double the recipe next time! Have fun with your chili–post the recipe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

