Day 186–Cantaloupe Preserves = Epic Fail

20120707-091728.jpg

Sometimes, I see a recipe and immediately think, “That is going to be sooooo good.” Other times I think, “That sounds so weird and gross, that it must actually be good.” In Italy, they serve a tripe sandwich called lampradotto that sounds gross, but is actually pretty amazing. Who knew? So sometimes when you venture beyond your comfort zone, you can really come out the winner. This is what I was thinking when I saw a recipe for cantaloupe preserves. Sounds so strange that it MUST be good, right? Right?

Wrong. Armed with a day off and some very ripe cantaloupe, I thought I would venture into new territory. I mean, there are only so many things you can do with a lot of very ripe melon, so why not try to pack some summer in a jar. Who knows, maybe I would be the one to introduce my friends to this great new phenomenon! Children would finally eat melons! Trendy chefs would be using it everywhere! (My mind is a strange place and it works this way.)

The road to hell, as they say, is paved with good intentions. As it turns out, cantaloupe preserves are just as gross as they sound. And they look worse. I mean, would YOU eat the jar of preserves pictured above? One of my colleagues said it looked like a weird science specimen from a horror movie. I think that’s spot on. Blech.

I’m not even posting the recipe because it was that bad. Thankfully, I only made four half pints, so I don’t have a lot of food to dump. Chalk this one up to experience. Eat your cantaloupe the way nature intended and leave the canning for tomatoes, cucumbers and berries. And if you’re in Florence, try the tripe.

20120707-091646.jpg

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I keep seeing recipes for cantaloupe smoothies and i don’t know why, but it just sounds gross. Maybe it’s a texture thing. I could eat cantaloupe all day every day and never get sick of it, in it’s perfectly natural unaltered state. Cut it in half, scoop out the seeds, eat the whole thing with a spoon. Gold star for trying something weird and new!!! Cause you’re right; sometimes that sort of thing is unexpectedly awesome.

    Reply
  2. I loved your use of the quote, “The road to hell is paved with good inentions.” I LOL-ed. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Wow that science specimen description is actually quite spot on – but hey you never know unless you try no? 😉

    Cheers
    CCU

    Reply

Leave a Reply

