Day 184–Freezing Through the Summer

Whole green beans in a carton.

I’ve been canning a lot of food lately, trying to make sure we can eat locally all year AND trying to reduce the amount of food we toss into the compost because we can’t eat it fast enough. I have to admit–I love canning. It was scary at first, but I have my own little system now and that makes things more efficient and comfortable. The fact that I haven’t killed anyone with my jam also boosts my confidence significantly ­čÖé

But putting up food for the winter months includes freezing and drying foods, too. I still don’t have a deep freeze, but I did manage to put up a LOT of strawberries this spring. Where are they? They have all been eaten–mostly turned into fruit/yogurt smoothies, which we have every morning. It make me realize just how much fruit we plow through each week. ARRGGHH. So, come winter, I will not have strawberries. I am, however, going to try again with peaches, blueberries and blackberries. And I’ll try some vegetables as well. Yesterday while waiting for my marinara┬ásauce to cook, I blanched and froze some summer corn and some green beans. I’m on my way to rebuilding my stock of foods for winter–not that we mind kale, collards and sweet potatoes, but won’t it be nice to have fresh tasting corn as well? As long as we don’t have corn smoothies, I think we’ll be more successful with vegetables!

Here are some foods that freeze well (some of these surprised me):

  • Corn (blanch, strip from the cob and freeze┬áthe kernels)
  • Whole tomatoes (Tip: once frozen, the skins just slip off during thawing)
  • Peaches
  • Kale/collards (cook first)
  • Green beans
  • All berries
  • Peppers
  • Chopped herbs (put them in an ice-cube tray and fill the compartments with olive oil!)
  • Onions (chop them and freeze them in bags in 1 c. portions)

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’ve seen the chopped herb trick; also read the other day that if you used boiling water to fill the herby ice cube trays it will freeze clear instead of cloudy. Neat. I had no freaking idea you could freeze whole tomatoes. Or onions.

    Reply
    • We’ve used the onion trick a lot–really helps me reduce waste and get started on dinner quickly when I’m in a hurry! Herbs in ice would be great!!! And I had NO idea about whole tomatoes either!! What a miracle!!

      Reply
  2. Liz

     /  July 6, 2012

    I have a feeling I am going to need to do this with our green beans once they come in!

    Reply
  3. I freeze everything I possibly can – whole tomatoes, chopped onion, chopped green, red and jalapeno peppers (easy to use for cooking and the prep is already done for you), chopped spinach (I don’t cook it first, just chop it and put it in baggies). I also make gallons of tomato sauce and tomato puree for the freezer. We have two deep freezes to hold it all. One is empty right now, but we will plug it in and fill it up over the summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

