Day 67–There’s An App for That

My phone knows where my food comes from. That seems like crazy talk to me. Wasn’t it just yesterday I was using my brother’s super fast Commodore 64K to play Space Invaders?

I don’t think I can say it enough, but I love my iphone. My poor little laptop is becoming more of a doorstop as I marvel at the possibilities of my phone. The number and variety of apps continually amazes me, even if most of them are fluff. And as much as my daughter loves Plants vs. Zombies, I tend to favor those apps that help me get through my days in a more practical way. My newest find is HarvestMark, an app that actually tracks the source of your food. For reals.

There are limits, of course. Your food has to include a bar code or QR code, which does limit the possibilities. But for me, food with a bar code is where I have more concerns. I typically know where my whole foods come from–the processed and pre-bagged foods are more of a mystery. The database of bar codes is still improving, so while some things like canned soup are not listed yet, others like packaged fruits and meats, are. It isn’t perfect, but it is the start of something exciting. Another tool to help me be an informed consumer.

I’m enjoying using the tool, but trying not to irritate other shoppers in Trader Joes by becoming one of “those people” who blocks food access by busying myself on my phone. Lord knows, I am usually the person not-s0-patiently tap, tap, tapping my foot while waiting for someone to back away from the Greek yogurt. So for now, you will find me in the empty aisle by the fiber supplements, scanning my food. I am not playing Plants vs. Zombies. Probably.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hahaha some of the ingredients listed in bar-coded food are like the equivalent of plants versus zombies. I wish I loved my smartphone. Mostly I think it’s a glorified moron. But really that’s just because I live in a radioactive forcefield that causes me to drop EVERY call.

    Reply
    • Well dropped calls are just annoying. Bad, bad forcefield! And one day, my phone may turn against me for relying on it so much. Really, it would take very little–just a tweak of my ipod running playlist would be enough to throw me off at this point 🙂

      Reply
  2. I haven’t heard of this app! I’ll have to check it out. I’m staying away from the games! Tempted by words with friends, but will resist the temptation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

