Day 311–Pork Roast with Apples, Cider and Thyme

Onions, apples and cranberry make a nice base for this slow cooker roast!

Last week my friend Sarah commented on a dish she made involving pork roast and apple cider. Hmmmmm, sounded pretty good to me, so I decided to take a try myself and use the leftovers for our football tailgating lunch. This slow cooker roast takes advantage of our fresh, local apples and apple cider. I also added some dried cranberries, which were tasty. We served it with our delish purple potatoes!

Pork Roast with Apples, Cider and Thyme

  • 1 pork roast or Boston Butt
  • 2 yellow onions
  • 2 granny smith or fuji apples
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • Kosher salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup organic, dried cranberries
  • 3 cups fresh apple cider
  • Olive oil
  1. Peel onions and slice thin. Put in bowl of a slow cooker.
  2. Peel and core apples. Slice thin and add to bowl of the slow cooker.
  3. Sprinkle dried cranberries and thyme over onions and apples.
  4. In a heavy skillet, heat olive oil on medium high heat. Brown pork on all sides.
  5. Place pork roast on top of onion/apple mixture. Pour cider over all, cover and cook on low for 7 hours or on hi for 4.
  6. Serve pork sliced or pulled with apples on top!

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Glad you liked it – this recipe has become a real staple in our house!

    Reply
  2. I’m gonna make this one, Deanna! I seriously have a whole list of the recipes you’ve been posting that I wanna try out. I read another post about a month ago with pork & cider, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Have fun tailgating! Wave hello to Charlotte for me (that’s where I grew up) 🙂

    Reply
    • I know what you mean–I have a similar list! So many great recipe ideas and so little time! Can’t wait for the game tomorrow–I’m not sure why Charlotte seems so far but the beach (same distance) doesn’t. I think it’s a Raleigh thing 🙂 Will toast you at the game!

      Reply
  3. I love the idea of adding cranberries to this dish – perfect for cold weather! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

