Day 306–Poached Salmon in Apple Cider

English: Flesh of an Atlantic Salmon.

Typically, we buy our seafood only from North Carolina fisherman through a local vendor Locals Seafood. The fish, scallops and shrimp we have had are so fresh and delicious that we haven’t looked elsewhere. A recent Tweet from Whole Foods, however, encouraged me to veer off course and pick up some sustainable, Scottish salmon that was on sale. I hadn’t had salmon this year except for occasional restaurant meals, and it is sooooooo good for you that I just couldn’t resist. Salmon is low in bad fats, but high in Omega 3 fatty acids, protein and vitamin D.  I’m so glad I listened to my inner foodie, because that salmon was some of the best I’ve had in a very long time.

Buying a 2 lb. fillet of salmon required some quick thinking on my part. I hadn’t planned it into our meals for the week and needed a quick and healthy preparation that would allow the true flavor of the salmon to come through. I’m also on a budget, so I needed to keep extra expenses to a minimum. So necessity being the mother of invention, I decided to poach my salmon fillet using what I had on hand, which was fresh, local apple cider. I’ve only poached with white wine before, so I wasn’t sure how this would work. In the end, it was simply delicious. The salmon was moist with just a hint of apple sweetness. Now I’m wishing I had really splurged and bought two fillets!

Poached Salmon in Apple Cider

  • 1 large salmon fillet
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 c. fresh apple cider
  • Aluminum foil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Tear off a sheet of aluminum foil that is large enough to wrap completely around your fillet without any additional seams. Lay the foil on a rimmed baking sheet.

Lay your fillet on the foil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Make a foil packet for your fillet by folding the two long sides of foil over your fish, creating a little “tent”  and crimping the edges (this will keep the steam in your foil tent).

Seal the short ends by folding them over several times. Before you seal the final short edge, pour the cider into your packet, then seal the last edge.

Pop the baking sheet into your prepared oven and bake/steam for about 25 minutes (a larger fillet like the one we had, took 40 minutes). When the fish is just opaque, it is done.

We served our salmon with local kale and local potatoes!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Your meals are fresh and clean and simple and seasonal and just really really wonderful. I love them. Really.

    Reply
  2. SEinloth@aol.com

     /  November 7, 2012

    Deanna, I just made the salmon for dinner (since Sharon is now working) and it was great! I sent a copy of your email to my friends in Florida, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Washington, DC and Ohio. If you start getting any subscriptions from these states maybe they are friends of mine Tad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

