Day 181–Peach Salsa

I feel like I have been canning like a fiend, but there is still so much to do! I’ve mentioned my farmer’s market hoarding tendencies and it’s all I can do not to buy up everything in sight. But I do know that is a recipe for DISASTER! I did manage to can some peach salsa last week and we tried it out with some smoky grilled pork tender

loin. It was magic! We would definitely enjoy it with chips and salsa or on quesadillas. Yum, yum! Here is the recipe in case you want to give it a try. The original is from Sherry Brooks Vinton’s book, Put ‘Em Up, which I think is the best canning recipe book I have. This week, I’ll be canning tomato sauce–new territory for preserving my local food bounty!

Spicy Peach Salsa

  • 3 lbs. peaches, whole
  • 1 green or red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 sweet onion, peeled and diced
  • 1 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp. salt
  • 1 lb. tomatoes, cored, seeded and diced
  1. Combine the vinegar, brown sugar, cumin and salt in a large, nonreactive pot. Peel, pit and dice the peaches, adding them quickly to the brine so they do not brown.
  2. Add the tomatoes, bell pepper, onion and jalapeno and bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat and simmer until thickened, about 15 minutes (this will in part depend on how juicy your peaches are).
  4. Remove from heat and refrigerate or can using the boiling water bath method.
  5. Ladle salsa into hot, sterilized half-pint canning jars, leaving 1/2″ headspace. Release the trapped air.
  6. Wipe the rims clean, put lids and bands on the jars and process in the boiling water bath for 15 minutes.
  7. Turn off heat, remove canner lid and let jars rest for 5 minutes.
  8. Remove jars and set aside for 24 hours. Check the seals and then store for up to 1 year.
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. What a stunning salsa recipe my friend 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Put ‘Em Up. Haha that’s a great title for a canning book 🙂 I also tend to hoard at the produce stands and local markets. Do I need a whole bushel of peaches? No. Do I buy a whole bushel of peaches? Totally. And then peaches have to be a part of EVERYTHING. I have a really great recipe for a fresh peachy salsa with black beans and bell peppers somewhere… it would be lovely on chicken tostadas. This recipe sounds sooo perfect for pork. Hope your 4th was great!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Would love to see your fresh recipe! Sounds yummy! I worked all day on the 4th (we have a big event) and was ready for the mother of all showers when I got home!! Fun day though–hope yours was awesome!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

