Day 180–A Mosquito Challenge

Ochlerotatus notoscriptus, Tasmania, Australia

Watering the garden last night, I was besieged by mosquitoes. Those tiny little devils love me (or at least, they love my blood). I’m not very good about putting bug spray on unless I’m camping and I never did get around to ordering that mesh beekeeping suit. The only products that work on me involve DEET. But who wants a known carcinogen on their body? And would I really wear the beekeeping suit when it’s 106 outside? And while we’re at it, why me??? What makes me such a popular mosquito destination while others get left alone? I’ve heard many theories about this including my estrogen level, how close my blood vessels are to the surface of my skin and–most recently–that I was born in The North.

I recently read about a homeopathic remedy that supposedly works from the inside out (regardless of where you’re from). It involves natures miracle–that’s right–vinegar. The goal of this treatment is to change your skin’s chemical composition to make it more acidic. I’m going to start this tonight and see if in a week I have any difference in my mosquito appeal. And if it doesn’t, well, it certainly can’t hurt. Here is the recipe:

  • 1 c. warm water
  • 3 Tbsp. cider vinegar

Add the cider vinegar to the cup of warm water and drink. Consume one cup per day. Here’s to research!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I’m not sure I can make myself drink vinegar… but I am a very popular mosquito destination. I’m from southern Illinois… I think that’s more mid-west than north. They LOVE to bite my feet. Ever tried to scratch the top of your little toe? Gah. Lemme know if this works!

    Reply
  2. Hey Deanna – I’m overrun with pickling cucumbers from our neighbors across the way and I wanna make some refrigerator pickles — crispy crispy and full of garlic (claussens are my favorites when I buy ’em!!). Do you have a good recipe? I figured I’d ask you since you’ve been pickling everything for the last month or so 🙂

    Reply
    • Here’s one!

      8 1/4 c. sliced, trimmed cucumber
      2 c. white vinegar
      2 c. water
      6 tbsp. pickling or canning salt
      1/4 c. sugar
      2 tbsp. pickling spice
      7 1/2 tsp. dill seeds
      5 tsp. mustard seeds
      1 1/2 tsp. whole black peppercorn
      5 cloves garlic, halved

      Place cucumber slices or spears in a large glass or stainless bowl. Set aside.

      In a nonreactive saucepan, combine vinegar, water, pickling salt, sugar and pickling spice. Bring to a boil and stir. Reduce heat and boil gently for 10 min.

      Pour pickling liquid over cucumbers in the bowl. Cover w/waxed paper and set aside until cool, about 30 min.

      Evenly divide dill, mustard, peppercorns, and garlic halves among 5 prepared pint size jars. Add cucumbers, leaving 1/2″ headspace. Ladle brine over pickles, leaving 1/2″ headspace.

      Apply lids. Let marinate in fridge for 2 weeks and keep up to 3 months.

      This is from the Ball canning book, so it should be reliable. Good luck!!!

      Reply
    • Let me know how they turn out!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

