Day 168–The Volunteer That Ate My Yard

20120619-174744.jpg

Who knew last November when I shoveled rotten pumpkin goo into my flower bed that I would be creating a monster. But a monster pumpkin plant is apparently what we have on our hands! This one plant has taken over the flower bed, the walkway and soon, the driveway. So far, it looks better than anything I actually planted on purpose and other than some compost from our bin this spring, I haven’t fertilized it or anything. Its huge, orange flowers should be producing lil’ baby pumpkins. Should. But isn’t. Why??? Any ideas? Do I have one of those weird GMO pumpkin plants that doesn’t have fertile seeds?

In the meantime, I’ll be watching for any cries of “Feed me, Seymore!”

20120619-174604.jpg

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. It’s beautiful! Even if it doesn’t produce pumpkins. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness! You have me really wondering if this is what I’m in for! I have a blog post on a similar topic for tomorrow!

    Reply
  1. Day 246–Starting Week 36–Budget and Menu « yearofhealthierliving
  2. A Volunteer is Taking Over My Flower Bed | A Colorful AdventureA Colorful Adventure
  3. A Volunteer is Taking Over My Flower Bed - a colorful adventure

Leave a Reply

