Day 158–Peach Balsamic Vinaigrette and An Award!

Thanks to Agent Emme for ending my week with a big smile! She nominated this blog for the Sunshine Blogger’s Award and in so doing brought some sunshine to the close of a hectic week! Check out her blog, which is both engaging and fun!

The Sunshine Blog Award is a price awarded to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” As an award winner, there are a few rules to follow:

  • Link the award to the person(s) who gave it to you.
  • Answer the questions that come with it.
  • Pass it along to 10 people and let them know they have received it.

The Questions and answers:

  • Favorite Number: 3 and 5–it’s a tie
  • Favorite nonalcoholic drink: real lemonade
  • Facebook or Twitter: FB–I do Twitter, but I’m still trying to figure out why
  • My passion: local food
  • Favorite pattern: polka dots
  • Favorite Day of the Week: Sunday
  • Favorite Flower: Daisy

You know who else brought me some sunshine? That’s right–my mom. She sent me some lovely peach balsamic vinegar from a shop she loves in Portland, Maine. I’m using it to make a peach vinaigrette dressing. YUM! Here is the recipe!

Peach Vinaigrette

  • 1/2 c. Olive oil
  • 1/2 c. Peach balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 c. shallot
  • 1 tsp. mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste

Wisk all ingredients together or use an immersion blender to blend ingredients. Serve on greens or use as a marinade!

Here are the 10 bloggers I am sharing this award with! Please visit their sites as well!

Creative Noshing–Wonderful writing and recipes from a southern ex pat living in the northwest. Her amazing dressing recipes have changed our salads forever!

Sugar Dish Me–Another NC girl whose writing and stories I adore. Also, she has some pretty killer recipes, too. Her recent post on peanut butter pie was wonderful!

Local Kitchen–A terrific local foodie blog with great recipes!

The Scrumptious Pumpkin–Truly scrumptious and healthy recipes. Read and be inspired!

Hillsborough Cheese Company–A local NC cheese making business that has kept us well fed and well informed all winter and spring!

Real Local Cooking–A fun mother/daughter blog about eating and cooking local foods. Mom is in Minnesota and daughter is in England. I love this!

Rachel’s Table–Rachel has a challenge similar to ours, but she used a more thoughtful approach compared to our jump-in-with-no-information style. Love her blog!

Masala Art–A fun and funny mom who posts about food and non-food in a wonderful, engaging way!

My Life in Hope–I love reading blogs from other gardeners–I learn so much from them! This is a great blog about a man and his garden in British Columbia. Awesome!

Agrigirl’s Blog–Agrigirl (aka Tammy) blogs about local food and participating in a CSA. Check it out!

Family Foodie Survival Guide–I love any family that proclaims to “eat by the seat of our pants.” That pretty much describes trying to have a locavore family! Their post on purple cauliflower has me on the hunt for some at my own market.

Check ’em out! And thanks again to Agent Emme for the award!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Congrats on the award. Thank you saying such nice thing about me. I am honored.

    Reply
  2. congrats on your award! You absolutely deserve it 🙂

    Reply
  3. 🙂 Congrats:) Congrats:)

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on your award! And thanks so much for nominating me. I am totally thrilled…and think I might just need to write a post about eating by the seat of our pants when I spread some sunshine later this week!

    Reply
  5. And – thanks for all the new blogs to follow!

    Reply
  6. Another big thank you to you, Deanna!!! I enjoy your posts so much – your menus make me crave fresh simple ingredients, your recipes entice my taste buds, and the articles you post are so full of good information!!! Thanks again!

    Reply
  1. Sunshine Blogger’s Award and Eating By The Seat Of Our Pants | Family Foodie Survival Guide

Leave a Reply

