Day 129–Lemon Blueberry Muffins

A pack of blueberries from a organic farm co-o...

We received some fresh, local blueberries in our Produce Box this week and I can’t wait to use them! Will make some muffins for our campout this weekend and for me, nothing beats blueberries combined with some lemon. I love that flavor combination! I also like using buttermilk in my muffin recipes as it cuts through the sweetness and gives the muffins a fresh taste. Here is the recipe I use–you can substitute any other berry for the blueberries. I think raspberries would be terrific also!

Blueberry Muffins

  • 2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. organic cane sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. butter, melted
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 c. buttermilk
  • 1 Tbsp. grated lemon zest
  • 2 c. blueberries
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease 12 muffin cups or line with paper liners.
  2. Sift together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, wisk together melted butter, egg, buttermilk and lemon zest.
  4. Fold in blueberries.
  5. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full of batter.
  6. Bake until golden, about 18 minutes. Test for doneness with a bamboo skewer.
  7. Remove from oven and cool 10 minutes. Remove muffins from pan and cool on a cooling rack.
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Great looking recipe. I agree, berries need a little tart from lemon and buttermilk. Plus buttermilk makes for a tender crumb. Mmmmm….

    Reply
  2. Oh blueberry muffins I’ve missed you so much since last summer!!!

    Reply
  3. Great recipe! Come link up and share your goodness with others 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/10/whats-in-the-box-25/

    Reply
  4. I add Chai seed to the liquid in my muffin recipes. The flavor is not affected but they add fiber and omega-3. I allow them to expand into gel, then add to the recipe. Sometimes I add more liquid if the batter is too thick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

