Day 100–Reflections on 100 Days

20120409-152641.jpg

When Ellie was in kindergarten, there was great pomp and ceremony around the first 100 days of school. She made a 100 days hat, brought in 100 cheerios and the class celebrated learning to count to 100. So here we are at our 100th post and I am making this post from our campsite at Jordan Lake. Our own 100 days celebration.

In the past 100 days, I have learned that eating locally and mostly organic is not as hard as I originally thought, although staying within our budget is still a challenge. I’ve cooked many more meals than I think I ever have, but I have enjoyed the process more than I thought I would.

My biggest surprise (and delight) is in the relationships I’ve cultivated with people in my community. Farmers, bakers, cheesemakers, dairies, livestock farmers, beekeepers and pasta makers all in my backyard! I enjoy seeing them at the market, asking how the crops or animals are doing and hearing about what is new this week. Shopping at the grocery store seems pretty lonely and institutional in comparison.

Wish you could be here to celebrate our 100 days with our locavore sandwiches of Great Harvest bread, Coon Rock Farm sliced ham and Hillsborough Cheese Co cheese + fresh strawberries on the side. Come on down to the lake–we have a spot at the table for you!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. What a great way to sum up 100 days! Have a sandwich for me & enjoy your campout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

