Day 91–Chickens (a post by Ellie)

Ellie and the Silky Chick at the Dig In! Conference

Hi, I am Ellie, Deanna’s guest blogger for today, and I am writing about chickens. Chickens are very good pets to have because of the protein in the eggs. Sadly, I live in Cary so no chickens for me, especially because my mom (Deanna) won’t let me have them (hopefully she will give in).

I did some research on chickens and found out that chickens are related to dinosaurs, so their feet look really weird. Chicken eggs have good protein and pasture raised eggs have more protein and omega 3 fatty acids, which are really good for your heart. So if you live in a city that allows you to have chickens, maybe you should get them. At this conference I went to called “Dig In!”, I got to hold a hen and a chick. The chick fell asleep in my hands immediately and buried its beak between my thumb and forfinger. But the hen surprisingly would not let anyone hold her but me, and soon fell asleep in my arms. She woke up to a boy petting her the wrong way and she crowed at him then fell asleep again. Chicken eggs range in size, some the size of a robins egg and all the way up to the size of eggs that we buy from the farmers market. My favorite type of chicken is a Polish chicken because their feathers on the top of their heads look like a sideways mohawk.

Polish chicken at the Garden Girl, on the Roxb...

I don’t suggest you get a rooster unless you like to wake up at 5:00 am or you really want to annoy your neighborhood. You can always volunteer on a farm if you can’t or don’t want chickens roaming your front or backyard 24/7. Chickens, like any animal, need feed, water, grooming, and a shelter. So that is a little bit about chickens.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oooh, I like the Polish chicken too! Very dapper feathers.

    Reply
  2. This is super! I want a baby chick to fall asleep in my hands. I read somewhere not long ago that chickens are good pets; one girl said they follow her around the yard like she’s a momma duck. Cute cute cute.
    C’mon, Deanna, you know you want a chicken!

    Reply
  3. I really want chickens. Stupid deed restrictions! I guess I’ll have to move.

    Reply
  4. Very nice post. One or two roosters aren’t too bad. They do get us up a little early sometimes, but they sometimes keep the hens from fighting, you know with the pecking order and all, and keep a look out for hawks and other dangers. You and the whole family are welcome to come see and hold our birds anytime.

    Reply
  5. My brother and his family had chickens and they hatched the BEST eggs!! Great post Ellie 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

