Day 70–An Award!

Today, our family is heading out to the Dig In! conference sponsored by Advocates for Health in Action to learn more about sustainable community gardening. I am especially interested in how to get children and seniors involved in community gardening projects. Our plan is to split up and visit as many sessions as possible and then compare notes. Tom and Ellie will be taking their turns as guest bloggers next week, and it will be fun to read their perspectives on the day.

Before we head out on a new adventure, I want to thank Heather at Sugar Dish Me for selecting my blog for an award. Although I have only been blogging since late December, I already feel like I am a part of a community of wonderful, creative and nurturing people. Heather’s blog is funny, thoughtful, compassionate and full of delicious recipes. Make sure you check it out!

Receiving the Versatile Blogger Award requires that I share 7 things about myself. Ready?

  1. My most decadent meal is hush puppies dipped in chicken gravy. Don’t judge unless you’ve tried it.
  2. I am a Girl Scout leader who loves outdoor cooking and does not love cookie season.
  3. I am writing a children’s book about a pasture-raised chicken.
  4. Pink Floyd is my all time favorite band.
  5. My day job is managing a historic site.
  6. I once protested at a presidential inauguration. With my mom.
  7. I could eat my weight in NC barbeque (eastern, if you need to know).

I also get to share this wonderful award with 7 other bloggers. Here they are–make sure you visit their sites!

local kitchen–This Diary of a Mad Mocavore (mostly local) follows another journey to eating sustainably and locally. Based in the Hudson Valley of New York, she has wonderful recipes!

The Scrumptious Pumpkin–This blogger has the ability to transform decadent, yummy dishes into healthy, yummy dishes that are seriously tasty and easy to make. And I covet her ability with a camera.

HoneyBea Got Heart–This working mom definitely has a versatile life! In addition to being a full-time mom, working for a hunger relief organization, working as a farmhand and jammer,  and getting her own urban farm up and running , she also works for The Produce Box . Anyone with a post titled “I Didn’t Poop My Pants” is pretty awesome in my book!

Observing Ourselves Observing–Lav has a wonderful way with words and a keen observational style about herself and others. Her family is living in Italy for a year while she simultaneously works on completing her dissertation,  publishing an ibook and waging a war with an insane washing machine.

The Further Adventures of a Former Curator–An honest observation on life after a furlough in a cultural organization. Just because your job no longer exists, doesn’t mean you aren’t a person with creativity, curiosity or intellect.

The S(low) Down–A refreshing blog by a young professional working for a local grass-fed cattle company. Refreshing because posts include information on slow food and local food, while admitting to an occasional enjoyment of Taco Bell.

The Foodie Affair–A mom with a love of good food that is artfully presented. Presentation is not my strong suit, so I’m learning a lot here. And a blog that includes “movie night” and eating chia seeds (as in Chia pet) is a woman with a lot to say!

Thanks again to Sugar Dish Me for such a nice recognition and for daily sharing her insights with all of us!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Congrats and well done!

    Reply
  2. tuckarella

     /  March 10, 2012

    Thanks so much for sharing! It’s funny how similar we are. In my previous life I worked as a hearth cook, researcher and archaeologist at two house museums and a national park. I also absolutely love hushpuppies dipped in anything. BBQ is a given. I’d be run out of NC on a rail if I didn’t have a strong opinion. Have you tried poutine? It’s a dish popular in Canada made of fries covered with curd cheese and brown gravy. Yummm yum.

    Reply
  3. You might hate me for this, but… can I get some cookies? Puh-leez?

    I’m looking forward to reading through your blog picks. Thanks for the kind words!!!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for passing on the blog love! I can’t wait to check out the other bloggers you’ve picked. The weekly menus that you write have encouraged me to work on planning ahead! So often my tummy sways my planning…I feel like tuna or a salad or… I need to stay on track 🙂 Keep up your great posts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

