Day 59–Soft, Oatmeal Cookies to Fuel a Journey

I don't usually take direction from a cookie, but...

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Remember hearing that? (If you’re younger than 35, you are probably still hearing that, but humor me). I remember being a bit bummed out as a child that I had to pick one thing to be–or at least that was the expectation. The world seemed so full of wonderful choices that I didn’t think I could ever decide on one thing to do…forever. My first choice was Horse Trainer (I had never been on a horse), then Teacher, then Veterinarian, Teacher, Solid Gold Dancer, Teacher, Writer, Teacher, etc. I finally decided at age 8 or 9 that I would be a part-time horse trainer and vet and in my spare time I would teach children. And maybe shake my booty on Solid Gold on the weekends.

I think I’m still in that place, although parts of my booty now shake all by themselves.

Sometimes the universe brings you a gift that you aren’t necessarily looking for. And sometimes, you go looking. This journey we are on–to find sustainable ways to live, to find sources for healthy, locally produced food, to reconnect our family to the living world–has changed the way I view how I spend my time. I want to make a difference, even if it’s a small one, and I want to use what I am learning every day to help others who are interested. How will that play out? That is a mystery. But I am on the alert for new opportunity and excited about what the future holds.

Until “opportunity” and I find each other, here is a recipe for soft, oatmeal, cranberry, cocoa nib cookies. A perfect, sustaining snack for a long journey!

Oatmeal, Cranberry, Cocoa Nib Cookies

  • 1 c. unsalted, organic butter
  • 1 c. unbleached, organic sugar
  • 1 c. organic brown sugar
  • 2 farm eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 c. whole wheat pastry or all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3 c. rolled oats
  • 1 c. dried cranberries (you could also use raisins)
  • 1/2 c. organic cocoa nibs
  1. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a mixer, cream together butter and sugars.
  3. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla and stir.
  4. Add butter/sugar mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well.
  5. Add oats, cranberries and cocoa nibs. You may need to mix with your hands at this point!
  6. Cover bowl and chill for 30-90 minutes.
  7. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  8. Line cookie sheets with unbleached parchment (or lightly grease your cookie sheets).
  9. Roll dough into balls about 1 1/2 inches and place on cookie sheet about 3 inches apart.
  10. Take a glass and gently flatten each ball with the bottom of the glass.
  11. Bake for about 10 minutes (check your cookies after 8 minutes as cooking times vary by oven).
  12. Cool cookies on baking sheet for 5 minutes, then remove to a cooling rack to cool completely (I never have that much patience, but it sounds good in a recipe :-))
  13. Continue looking for new opportunities with a full tummy and a smile on your face…

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

