Day 42–A Locavore’s Lunch–Market Restaurant

The Market Restaurant provides fresh, organic, locally produced food!

I work with some really awesome people who, thankfully for me, seem to “get” me. For my birthday, they gave me a generous gift card to a restaurant in Raleigh called Market. Market serves primarily locally grown, seasonal food and locally produced, pasture-raised, pasture-fed meat. How did I not know about this place??? So on my birthday yesterday, my husband and I walked to lunch at Market and enjoyed a very healthy and delicious lunch!

Market is located in Raleigh on the north end of Blount Street (for you Raleigh natives, it’s down near the Pilot Mill Building, where Halifax Court used to be). In a converted service station, Market is on the small side, with about 15 tables inside and a few more on the patio. Lunch begins at 11:30 and when we arrived at 11:20, there were already people waiting to get in. By the time we left at about 12:15, it was full, so get there early! They also serve dinner and sometimes Sunday brunch.

The menu clearly articulates the mission statement of Market and lists their local producers (yay!!). Was glad to see our favorite Mae Farm listed! Since Fridays feature $5 Friday specials, we both had the specials and I had a house salad, which was very fresh and probably the best salad I’ve had in a while. I had the vegan 3 bean chili special, which was a thick, spicy chili served over jasmine rice. On a chilly winter day, it was perfect. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich with apple/cabbage slaw and he really liked it, although he didn’t like the pickled onions served on the sandwich (easy fix, scrape them off and move on). Other specials included rockfish tacos and risotto with mushrooms and squash. Other entrees included fried duck salad and a variation of pupusas.

When we left, we felt full, but not stuffed, which was nice. The portions are satisfying, but not overly huge. Would love to try their brunch sometime. The staff regularly post specials and events to their Facebook page and Twitter, so it’s easy to keep up with the menu.

I hope Market is just the beginning of socially conscious dining in Raleigh. They certainly prove that you can be organic, sustainable and local and still have really yummy food!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

